Whiteout

Video installation · 2016
 

Image

Video

Documentation · 1:40 min. · LAGE EGAL | Berlin | DE · 2016

Text
Site-specific · Scale variable · 1:00 min. · Silent

Whiteout is a meteorological phenomenon in which visibility and contrast are severely reduced by snow and subdued lighting conditions. The horizon disappears completely and there are no reference points at all, leaving the individual with a distorted orientation. Whiteout has been defined as: “A condition of diffuse light when no shadows are cast, due to a continuous white cloud layer appearing to merge with the white snow surface. No surface irregularities of the snow are visible, but a dark object may be clearly seen. There is no visible horizon”.
(Source: Wikipedia)

The video installation Whiteout is concerned with projected images that are reciprocally superimposed on one another. The images are projected from opposing sides onto a suspended piece of transparent paper. One projection mirrors and inverts the image of the other whereby the darker areas of the one image outshine the lighter areas of the other.

In this edition of the work, the filmed shadow of a free-floating architectonic form can be seen in the projection light. This arises from the miniature scale model of the connecting doorway where the work is installed. Both projections connect the fine motions of the filmed shadows on the walls of the exhibition space to the gentle backward and forward swaying motions of the transparent paper suspended between the projectors.

The precisely corresponding positive and negative forms shift continuously against one another making an exactly matching overlay seem like a vanishing point that is constantly in reach but never attainable.

Whiteout

Videoinstallation · 2016
 

Bild

Video

Dokumentation · 1:40 Min. · LAGE EGAL | Berlin | DE · 2016

Text
Ortsspezifisch · Maße variabel · 1:00 Min. · Stumm

Whiteout ist ein meteorologisches Phänomen, das bei schneebedecktem Boden und gedämpftem Sonnenlicht beobachtet werden kann. Aufgrund diffuser Reflexionen des Sonnenlichts kommt es zu einer starken Kontrastverringerung, in deren Folge Boden und Himmel nahtlos ineinander übergehen und weder Schatten noch Konturen zu erkennen sind. Für den Beobachter entsteht das Gefühl, sich in einem völlig leeren, unendlich ausgedehnten, grauen Raum zu befinden.
(Quelle: Wikipedia)

In der Arbeit Whiteout geht es um projizierte Bilder, die sich wechselseitig überlagern. Von jeweils gegenüberliegenden Seiten wird auf ein mittig zwischen zwei Projektoren hängendes Transparentpapier projiziert. Der Bildinhalt der einen Projektion ist in der anderen gespiegelt und invertiert, wodurch die dunklen Bereiche des einen Bildes die hellen Bereiche der jeweils anderen Projektion überstrahlen.

In dieser Variante der Arbeit ist die Aufnahme des Schattens einer frei im Projektionslicht schwebenden architektonischen Form zu sehen. Hierbei handelt es sich um das miniaturhaft verkleinerte Modell des Durchgangs, in dem die Arbeit installiert ist. Die beiden Projektionen verbinden die feinen Bewegungen des abgefilmten Schattens an den Wänden des Ausstellungsraumes mit den Bewegungen des Transparentpapieres, das leicht zwischen den Projektoren hin- und herschwingt.

Die differenzlos und präzise aufeinander zugeschnittenen Formen von Positiv und Negativ verschieben sich gegeneinander und lassen das passgenaue Ineinandergreifen zu einem Fluchtpunkt werden, der fortwährend anvisiert wird aber nie eintritt.